martes, febrero 09, 2010

Surprises 2009: Kalisia - Cybion

Band: Kalisia
Album: Cybion (first album)
Genre: Progressive Melodeath
Country: France

CYBION is an anticipation concept-album. It is only composed of one epic piece. We strongly insist on this point: its structures and audio tracks are here to provide reference points to the listener, but CYBION must be considered as a one and only piece. It may only make sense in its entirety, exactly like a movie. Music and lyrics are very closely connected, developing atmospheres trying to provoke various emotions to the listener (oppression, happiness...), proposing (and not imposing) him a succession of pictures and feelings corresponding as closely as possible to the development of the story (but everyone is free to interpret it in a different way… as each person feels music in a different way). A million miles away from the idea of an easy-listening or disposable music, like those records you listen to once or twice before they get lost and dusty on a shelf (if they were even bought...), this piece can be difficult to understand at first, but will reveal itself time after time to those who’ll strive to listen carefully, and will always surprise them, even after dozens of listening.

A universal language
In order to provide more credibility, weight but also more poetry to the language imposed by the League, another genuine language called Kal was created for this record. Far from being just a simple translation of French or English with different words, this articulated language possesses its own grammar, semantic and etymology, and its calligraphy is also unique. Kal results from the study of different living, dead or imaginary languages such as Sanskrit, Latin, English, Arabic, Greek, German, Japanese, and even Quenya and Tengwar. It required, its creator Brett Caldas-Lima acknowledges, "a totally stupid amount of working hours in regard to the few times it is used".

Epic. It's all I could say about this project worked for years (their previous demo was released 15 years ago!). I dont mind so much about concept albums or about lyrics, so I will go straight to what interest me the most: the music. Cybion was thought to be just like one song divided in several parts, each one thought to mark a different feeling in the listener. The result is a really varied album where we can find many genres, from power metal, to death metal, to industrial, some jazz/classical interludes, some opera choirs.. all surrounding the main one: progressive metal with a harsh touch. It could be just another one of those progressive melodeath releases of another band copying Opeth/Dream Theater, but this album is enough original, with good riffs and melodies and you can feel there was so much effort and work in it.

1. Introduction / Domination / 01:49
2. Reception / Translation / 02:00
3. Union / Construction / 03:24
4. Declaration / Revolution / 02:41
5. Division / Integration / 03:52
6. Fusion / Rebellion / 05:41
7. Violation / Condemnation / 03:34
8. Education / Deification / 05:04
9. Isolation / Liberation / 03:39
10. Destination / Alteration / 03:06
11. Damnation / Seclusion / 05:09
12. Illusion / Desperation / 02:06
13. Resolution / Protection / 04:08
14. Reconstruction / Intrusion / 02:03
15. Confrontation / Communication / 03:23
16. Activation / Production / 02:54
17. Confusion / Resurrection / 03:09
18. Realisation / Penetration / 03:52
19. Disconnection / Comprehension / 05:29
20. Salvation / Connection / 03:02

Total playing time 01:10:05

The link provided serves just as promotional source. The aim is letting know rookie, new or unknown bands with few resources that try to expand their music. Buy the originals if you like them! Help good bands to grow!